The Darkling Psalter
The Darkling Psalter
Rendition of Psalm 19 with Music
0:00
-2:44

Rendition of Psalm 19 with Music

Rendition of Psalm 19 

The heavens declare the glory of God. 
The dome of the sky displays the works of his hands.
The created world pours out speech by day,
And reveals wisdom by night.
Though there is no speech, nor are there words—
For their sound cannot be heard—
Yet their gospel goes out through all the earth,
And their voice to the end of the world. 

He has made a home in the heavens for the sun.
It comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber
And runs its course with joy and strength
Like the men of renown of ancient days.
It springs from the mouth of the sky
And its circuit spans the whole of the heavens.
Nothing is hidden from its heat.

God’s torah is whole and unmarred,
Drawing back all people to life;
The word of the Lord is faithful,
Giving wisdom to fools;
The law of the Lord fits perfectly,
Bringing joy to the inmost place of human beings.
The commandments of God are pure,
Opening the eyes of those who hear them;
The fear of the Lord is clean,
It will remain forever;
The justice of the Lord is true,
And able to justify completely.
God’s ways are more to be desired than gold,
And are sweeter than honey.
There is great consequence in keeping them,
And by them God’s servants are enlightened.

Who can understand his own errors?
I want to be declared innocent of all my hidden faults.
Lord, hold me back from all my pride;
Do not let it rule over and devour me.
I long to be done with it,
And empty of all my rebellion.
Let my words and the music of my heart
Bring you delight
O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.

Read the notes on this rendition


Become a Paid Subscriber

Any work of sufficient length is only sustained contact with by those who benefit from it.

An idea can be a fragile thing and 150 poems and translations is a big idea. I meant this project to be ambitious though and, if it is ever complete, it will be the work of years.

I know the only way I’m ever going to finish this project is if I know people read, value, and support it. Whether you subscribe or not, if you like a poem or find a rendition of a Psalm helpful, drop me a line or leave a comment and let me know.

Other Links:

Share The Darkling Psalter

Photo by Olga Thelavart on Unsplash

Music by Ardie Son

0 Comments
The Darkling Psalter
The Darkling Psalter
New translations of the Psalms with new poems to go with them.